Skip to content Skip to navigation
Our profile

Our profile

We provide water and sewer services across north-east Victoria.

North East Water provides water and sewage services to an estimated population of 115,000 people in 39 towns in north-east Victoria across an area of 20,000 square kilometres. The service delivery area is bound by Corryong, Yarrawonga, Benalla and Dartmouth. Approximately 90% of our customers are residential with the remaining, either commercial or industrial.

We operate 21 water treatment facilities and 22 wastewater treatment plants that service most towns across the region. Over 194 full time equivalent staff are employed at our centres in Wodonga, Wangaratta, Benalla, Yarrawonga, Corryong, Beechworth, Mount Beauty and Myrtleford.

Our operations are overseen by the Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA) on behalf of the Minister for Water. We provide urban water and sewage services as a statutory corporation under the Water Act 1989 and operate under a Statement of Obligations.

Our service area map

Our purpose

To support the health and prosperity of our region by providing sustainable water solutions to our customers and communities.

Our strategic intent

Our Strategic Intent focuses on supporting the health and prosperity of the region by providing sustainable water solutions to customers and communities. The Strategic Intent outlines the Corporation’s ambitions around five key themes including People, Environment, Water Services, Assets and Infrastructure, and Customer and Community.

Strategic Intent

Our ambitions

Our mindsets

North East Water proudly upholds the mindsets of:


  • I will be accountable to others, and I will hold others to account


  • I will remain engaged and focused regardless of the challenges


  • I will behave and perform respectfully and fairly in all my interactions


  • I will work alongside others towards our shared goals


  • I will demonstrate understanding of others feelings and respect their alternate views